increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

The stable tester's forum for ZeosLib 7.0.x series

Report problems concerning our Delphi 2009+ version and new Zeoslib 7.0 features here.
afreitag
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: 03.09.2013, 13:46

increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby afreitag » 24.10.2013, 11:57

my application.exe build in Delphi XE with old good Zeos 6 takes 57 MB of RAM, after changing on Zeos 7.0.3 the same App (connected with the same DB) takes 200 MB RAM :shock: All is working fine but this size...
the same occurrence appears with Zeos 7.1.2, the same in Delphi XE3
(no matter compiling type Debug or Release)
does anybody knows any explanation of this occurrence ?
regards

miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 916
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby miab3 » 24.10.2013, 15:48

@afreitag

How have you built your application.exe in Delphi XE with old good Zeos 6?

Michal

afreitag
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: 03.09.2013, 13:46

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby afreitag » 28.10.2013, 12:13

with some changes in Zeos of course

miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 916
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby miab3 » 29.10.2013, 17:12

@afreitag,

with some changes in Zeos of course

Could you publish it?

At my:
ZEOS - Delphi - VSize
5.5 - D2006 - 76MB
7a - D2006 - 76MB
7.1.2 - D2006 - 86MB
7a - XE2(32)- 82MB
7.1.2 - XE2(32) - 102MB

Michal
Last edited by miab3 on 29.10.2013, 21:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Dev Team
Zeos Dev Team
Posts: 1701
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby EgonHugeist » 29.10.2013, 20:36

@miab3
miab3 wrote:ZEOS - Delphi - VSize
5.5 - D2006 - 76MB
7a - D2006 - 76MB
7.1.2 - D2006 - 86MB
7a - XE2(32)- 82MB
7.1.2 - XE2(32) - 102MB


Don't you see the UnicodeString does incraese the memory here?

Zeos is a global component. Actually i do assume chinese people with some 1-!6! bytes charecters do use Zeos too. I'm using a avage of 4Bytes in this case. Another thing can be the permant upconverting of the clob's to the UnicodeString in 7.0/7.1 which did change on 7.2.

I can NOT use minior memory or we've a buffer overrun for suche codepages like UTF8/GBK-simplified-chinese, Persian ..... as long i don't differ between UTF16LE/UTF16BE.
For single byte charsets (client-encoded) i need 2Bytes for the UnicodeString. It wasn't me who made the UnicodeString by default ask-> Embarcadero/CodeGear...
I just made it possible.
King regards, Michael

You want to help? viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image

miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 916
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby miab3 » 29.10.2013, 21:12

@EgonHugeist,
Don't you see the UnicodeString does incraese the memory here?

But I know it.

Afreitag says that the use of memory has increased 400%.
For me has increased at most 40% and that between the version non-unicode and unicode.

Michal

User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Dev Team
Zeos Dev Team
Posts: 1701
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby EgonHugeist » 29.10.2013, 21:18

miab3

i think 6.6 did load the clobs on demand as i reintroduced it on 7.2. I can't say who wrote the "allways load all lobs" code before. As i worked on the EH-branch the code already persists. now i fixed id in a much more optimal way. If his fixes need minor mem than his fixes are only possible for HIS CP's not for a gloabal use of this component. Michal, how does 7.2 behaves with memory?

Btw-got a solution for MySQL-uncached lobs too. Not ready yet, i'm fighting with oracle to avoid the mem-moves (if possible??? -> ora oftenly uses InOut-Pointers which makes a bit trouble..)
King regards, Michael

You want to help? viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image

miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 916
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby miab3 » 29.10.2013, 21:50

@EgonHugeist

Michal, how does 7.2 behaves with memory?

Decreased by a few percent.

FB2.53, Win7-64 Delphi XE2-32-64
7.1.2 -32bits - 192MB
7.2 -32bits - 181MB
7.1.2 -64bits - 250MB
7.2 - 64bits -236MB
(Another application than before)

Michal

afreitag
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 11
Joined: 03.09.2013, 13:46

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby afreitag » 30.10.2013, 13:06

I want to add that Application works with Postgresql DB, maybe Zeos supports this DB specifically, long time ago was a bug that Zeos truncate String only to 256 length.This may have been replaced by something more memory consuming ?

miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 916
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Re: increase memory size used by XE App with Zeos 7

Postby miab3 » 30.10.2013, 17:13

@afreitag

That's right.
Add 'Undefined_Varchar_AsString_Length = 255' to the TZConnection.Properties, reconnect and you have the old behavior back.
It will only read up to 255 characters in the field (if you want this).

Could you paste your modified ZEOS 6.6?

Michal


Return to “ZeosLib 7.0 Stable Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest